Goa News Online

Three unbeaten teams enter the 2023 ODI World Cup qualifier: West Indies, Zimbabwe, and Sri Lanka


West Indies, Zimbabwe, and Sri Lanka will go into the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Qualifier with a lot of confidence after winning both of their exhibition games.

Both the Netherlands and Nepal will enter the group rounds with victory under their belts; the Netherlands defeated Ireland, while Nepal defeated Oman.

Powell propels West Indies to a decisive victory against UAE.

Big-hitting At Takashinga, Harare, on Thursday, Rovman Powell’s quick century enabled the West Indies overcome UAE by 114 runs.

Prior to losing three wickets in the space of nine balls, Nicholas Pooran’s 74 had given the Windies a dominant position, but they were now 198-7 at the halfway point.

The Windies finally scored 374 for nine as Powell and Keemo Paul collaborated to put up 139 runs for the ninth wicket. Powell was eventually removed for 105 off only 55 balls.

Basil Hameed, who fought bravely to reach 122 not out as his team finished 114 runs short, was the UAE’s own centennial.

The West Indies’ attack was led once again by Yannic Cariah, who added four for 58 to his four-wicket total from the previous exhibition game.

After a convincing win against Scotland, Zimbabwe is now 2 for 2.

After being called into bat by the hosts Zimbabwe, Brandon McMullen fell one run short of a half-century as Scotland were bowled out for 163.

Before Matthew Cross was bowled by Brad Evans for 32, the right-hander and the second wicket put up an innings-high partnership of 47 runs.

Before being removed by Ryan Burl for 49, McMullen was unable to form another partnership, and Scotland passed 150 thanks to late cameos from Jack Jarvis (26) and Christopher McBride (20).

Zimbabwe’s reaction saw them successfully chase the small target in 25 overs with six wickets remaining.

Despite Micheal Leask’s two fast wickets, Sikandar Raza’s best score of 44 from 28 balls and Joylord Gumbie and Craig Ervine’s all 37 only offered little resistance.

Karunaratne’s century gives Sri Lanka a significant victory.

Sri Lanka defeated the United States by 198 runs in Bulawayo because to a brilliant century from Dimuth Karunaratne.

In the seventh over, with Sri Lanka 39 for one, Kusal Mendis joined Karunaratne at the crease. The two then teamed for a 191-run combination to push the Lions to 392 for five.

Mendis was out for 105 from 91 before Karunaratne retired unbeaten on 111 from 100 deliveries, giving Charith Asalanka and Dasun Shanaka time to bat in the middle order and contribute 112 runs for the fifth wicket.

The USA rebuilt via Monank Patel after losing both of their openers for only 10 runs to start their comeback. Patel scored 68 runs before becoming one of Matheesha Pathirana’s three wickets in an over, leaving the USA on 106 for seven.

Usman Rafiq was run out, leaving Shayan Jahangir stranded on 63 not out as USA fell 198 runs short.

Barresi leads the Netherlands to victory.

Harry Tector, who scored a century earlier in the week against the United States, was one of seven players for Ireland to reach single digits against the Netherlands as Scott Edward’s team shared the wickets and bowled Ireland out for 193 in the 40th over.

Gareth Delany, who was Shariz Ahmad’s second wicket, scored a quickfire 46 off 25 balls to help Lorcan Tucker recover from 58 for five in the 20th over.

Following Craig Young’s dismissal to Saqib Zulfiqar three balls after Tucker was stumped by Edwards for 74 off the bowling of Clayton Floyd, Ireland’s innings was prematurely ended.

Although Ireland put up a fight, Wesley Barresi’s 90 helped the Netherlands win. Barresi and Max O’Dowd put up 89 for the second wicket.

Ben White, who finished with figures of five for 61, removed Noah Croes three balls after O’Dowd left the field, and together they helped Ireland reduce the Netherlands to 114 for six in the 19th over.

Aryan Dutt and Logan van Beek methodically scored the last 10 runs after Barresi was out, bringing the Netherlands home by two wickets.

Nepal perseveres and defeats Oman

After Oman fell to seven for four, Captain Zeeshan Maqsood saved them by scoring a run-a-ball century.

Shoaib Khan and Maqsood worked together to steadily advance Oman, scoring 84 runs for the fifth wicket before putting up a 115-run stand with Ayaan Khan.

The left-hander was out for 109 when Sompal Kami scored twice in the penultimate over, and Khan was caught behind for 56 in the last over. Kami finished with five for 57, leaving Oman 267 all out.

In response, Nepal got off to a quick start thanks to opener Kushal Bhurtel, who hit 101 before retiring as he and Bhim Sharki put up a second-wicket partnership of 115 runs.

Oman responded by taking three fast wickets after Nepal just needed one run to win, as Aqib Ilyas grabbed four for 42 before Sandeep Lamichhane struck a six off the first ball he faced to seal the victory.




Related posts

Brij Bhushan Singh said, “Have Nothing To Do With Wrestling Anymore”


Kiran George of India wins the Indonesia Masters to win second Super 100 championship


Rajasthan Royals’ Post Regarding Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma’s Bond Stuns Fans: “Rohirat Moment”